Totally Random Musings from the Edge

Essential Mix of the Year 2004

01 July 2005

This article will take 1 minute to read

Above & Beyond are DJ/producers Jono Grant, Tony McGuiness and Paavo Siljamaki. Making music collectively and individually under monikers including Oceanlab, Tranquillity Base, Nitromethane, POS, Aalto, Dirt Devils and Free State, the boys have also remixed tracks like Madonna ‘What It Feels Like For A Girl’ and Armin van Buuren presents Perpetuous Dreamer ‘Sound Of Goodbye’, as well as artists such as Delerium, Three Drives and Japanese superstar, Ayumi Hamasaki.

In 2004 they provided us with the Essential Mix of the year.

Here’s the tracklisting.

Thomas Newman - “Ghosts” (Decca)
Above & Beyond - “Troubles In The World” (Anjunabeats)
Brian Eno - “An Ending” (Leama & Moor Mix) (White)
Probspot - “Foreplay” (Lost Language)
Sarah McLachlan - “World On Fire” (Junkie XL Mix) (BMG)
White Room - “White Room” (Liquid Asset)
Li Kwan - “Point Zero” (Leama & Moor Mix) (Liquid Asset)
Planisphere - “Symphotek” (Bonzai)
Oliver Prime - “Radiance” (Reset)
Sander Van Doorn - “Punk’d mixed with Sander Van Doorn “Loaded” (SVD Remix) (Oxygen)
Randy Katana - “In Silence” (Reset)
Thomas Newman - “Reading Room” (Decca)
Above & Beyond Feat. Zoe Johnston- “No One On Earth” (Anjunabeats)
Menno De Jong - “Guanxi” (Anjunabeats)
Smith & Pledger - “Believe” (Anjunabeats)
Scintilator - “The Festival” (Purple Eye)
Ronski Speed - “E.O.S” (Positive Ways Mix) (Euphonic)
Delerium - “Silence” (Above & Beyond Remix) (Nettwerk)
Above & Beyond pres. Tranquility Base - “Getting Away” (AnjunaDigital)
Super8 - “Cr8” (Anjunabeats)
Above & Beyond pres. Tranquility Base - “Surrender” (AnjunaDigital)
Above & Beyond - “Essential” (Anjunabeats)

Usual location…you know the drill.